November 3, 2015
HELP…Protect our Industry by Danielle Markley
Did you know 30% of jobs in the United States require a license? In the 1950’s this number was much lower, around 5%! This 5% simply was for doctors, dentists, and lawyers. But today a large percent of professions require a license to practice such as realtors, electricians, insurance agents, counselors, hairstylists, nail technicians, and makeup artists.
Licensure is defined as a restricted practice or a restriction on the use of an occupational title, requiring a license. A license created under a “practice act” requires a license before performing a certain activity, such as driving a car on public roads.
You may be wondering what EXACTLY is the point of this blog! Well, as a licensed cosmetologist for almost 20 years and a cosmetology school owner for the last 13, I personally want to PROTECT our industry! I find it very discouraging to hear of or see unlicensed individuals performing services on the public when I have young men and women that pay a lot of money and sacrifice a lot for a year of schooling to become licensed!
The first thing I have to assume is that some people simply may not know the laws; therefore, the reason behind this blog. Our state law book can be confusing so let me clear a few things up.
** In the state of Kansas (every state has different laws) in order to engage in the practice of cosmetology, esthetics, or nail technology you have to be licensed! These services include haircutting, hair coloring, perming, relaxing, styling, facials, makeup, waxing, manicuring, pedicuring and acrylics. If you or someone you know is performing these services without a license it is ILLEGAL!!!! If you are a salon owner and are hiring unlicensed professionals or allowing individuals to perform services they are not licensed for it is ILLEGAL!!! If you are a customer, request to see an individual’s license. Yes they may perform a wonderful service for you but without a license it is ILLEGAL!!
Now that you know what the law states I would like to inform you of the repercussions of not following the law:
**If the board determines a salon and/or individual has violated the law, the board, in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act, may issue a cease and desist order against such individual and/or assess a fine up to $1500. Also a violation of this law is a class C misdemeanor.
As you can see I’m very passionate about this topic. I’m very passionate because I get to observe DAILY the personal challenges of each of our students that are committed to getting a license for the industry they love and are passionate about. Our students attend school 32-37 hours every week. Attending school to get licensed in our industry is a full time job. We have single moms that rarely get to spend time with their children as they have to work on top of the 32 hours of school every week! We have students that spend 2-3 hours a day on the road driving to school which is a huge investment of their time and money. We have students that have had family and friends turn their backs on them simply due to a profession they chose to pursue! I see all these struggles yet there are individuals out there that simply walk in to a salon or their home, perform these services, make a great living and have no one to answer to like the rest of us that spent time and lots of money for a license.
I want to leave you with this:
We all have to have a drivers license to be legal on the road, correct? Although there may be people that can’t obtain a license but are REALLY REALLY GOOD drivers…does this mean just because they are good drivers they are exempt from having to follow the law and have a license? No! And vice versa…there are many many drivers that should NOT have a license but do! If you know of anyone practicing without a license please contact the Kansas Board of Cosmetology at (785) 296-3155….Lets protect this industry we all value so much TOGETHER!!!