October 10, 2017
[vc_row bg_color=””][vc_column width=”1/1″][ish_image image=”3525″ size=”large” align=”center”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row bg_color=””][vc_column width=”1/1″][ish_headline]
Stylists vs. Barbers
[/ish_headline][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row bg_color=””][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]Stylists vs. Barbering: FAQ’s
Q: Can barbers color and perm hair?
Q: Can cosmetologists use a straight razor?
A: Currently, the State of Kansas does not have a law prohibiting, nor a law allowing Cosmetologists the use of straight-edge razors.
Q: Can barbers do nail services?
Q: How many hours of training are required for barbers in Kansas.
A: No less than 1200 and no more that 1500 hours in the state of Kansas
Q: How many hours of training are required for a cosmetology license?
A: 1500 hours in the state of Kansas
Q: If you have a cosmetologist license, what does it take to get a barber’s license?
A: You would have to complete a minimum of 500 hours of training at a Kansas state licensed school.
Q:Can a salon have a barber and a cosmetologist in the same facility?
A:Yes. The salon must be licensed as a barber shop and a salon.
Q: How many hours does it take to become a licensed cosmetology instructor?
A: Once licensed, 300 hours if you have been in a salon for one year or more. Or, 450 if licensed and in a salon for less than a year. In both cases, you have to pass a state board exam for Kansas.